Log in
  • Club Calendar
  • Literary Lecture Series- Cherie Jones: How The One- Armed Sister Sweeps Her House

Literary Lecture Series- Cherie Jones: How The One- Armed Sister Sweeps Her House

  • 25 Nov 2021
  • 7:30 PM - 9:30 PM
  • Online

A debut novel in the tradition of Zadie Smith and Marlon James, from a brilliant Caribbean writer, set in Barbados, about four people each desperate to escape their legacy of violence in a so-called "paradise."
            In Baxter Beach, Barbados, moneyed ex-pats clash with the locals who often end up serving them: braiding their hair, minding their children, and selling them drugs. Lala lives on the beach with her husband, Adan, a petty criminal with endless charisma whose thwarted burglary of one of the Baxter Beach mansions sets off a chain of events with terrible consequences.

            A gunshot no one was meant to witness. A new mother whose baby is found lifeless on the beach. A woman torn between two worlds and incapacitated by grief. And two men driven by desperation and greed who attempt a crime that will risk their freedom -- and their lives.

Good Morning America's Bookclub pick for February, 2021. 

This Lecture is part of the 2021-22 Literary Lecture Series, a popular series has been described as a cross between a traditional book club and a university course without exams. Registration for this event is  restricted to registration for the Thursday Subscription Series (available here), or the full subscriptions series (available here). Please note that late purchasers of the series will be provided all videos released before the date of purchase. 

HELICONIAN CLUB

416-922-3618   ~   info@heliconianclub.org

PUBLIC SITE:    www.heliconianclub.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software